Thursday, September 13, 2007

Day 16 - National Gallery, walk and GLOBE THEATER!!!


so today was probably one of the most amazing days ever!
i know i keep saying that, but it's so true about all of them! all in their own ways of course!
this morning, we had class.... it ws a bit different than usual - Prof lectured and showed only clips of movies instead of a full movie. We were talking about indian cinema and Bollywood. it was kind of long.... i think i'm so used to watching a movie now that the whole lecture thing first was strange. - still good though! he dismissed us early (just before 12) which was very nice.
we all decided to go out for lunch since we had so much time so we went to the stock pot - down by cadogan's. the gang plus jon and tim. I got a ham and cheese on baguette with fries.... very good and only L4. not bad!
after lunch, i thought about possibly going to the tate modern but katie suggested going to our final third movie. the movie was at 2:20 and we left at 2..... aka. we didn't make the movie! haha..... but, our philosophy was "if we don't make it, we'll find something else to do"..... we finally located the movie theater at around 2:45 - entirely too late. we wandered around leicester square for a while and then ended up in trafalgar square (nothing new there! we typically end up there, no matter what we're looking for!)
we decided to go in to the national gallery for a little (we weren't planning on staying too long, but we ended up staying for over an hour!) saw paintings by da vinci, renoir, van gough, monet, seurat, cessane, vermeer..... it was soooo amazing. i think the ones that got to me the most were the van gough's. i literally stood 2 feet away from van gough's sunflowers..... i almost cried (not gonna lie!) katie had a great time too..... she didn't know much about art, but we had some excellent chats about them (made me feel a bit knowledgeable!)
after the gallery, we decided to walk along the north bank - we walked the south bank last night so we thought we'd try the other side! the sky was gorgeous - a very cloudy grey. i took lots of pictures and it never rained - good deal all around.
we walked down the north bank until we got to blackfriars bridge (had a discussion about bridges and how we toootally just make up the names for them! hehe) we crossed there and walked the south bank just past the tate modern to the opposite side of the millenium (st. paul's was across the river) at that point, i called steve to see what he was up to..... it turned out that he and dave went to the tate modern and were almost finished! - just in time to get a cup of coffee (or a creme in my case) a starbucks.... we still had 45 mins before meeting the class and prof at the globe so we just hung out.
at 6:40ish we met everyone and headed inside.... jess and i decided that the globe is the holy land of theater people. it was AMAZING! we learn about this soooo much and... to actually be standing there was such an awesome feeling. the show was fantastic - kind of hard on the feet, but that was the only complaint i had! the lead actress was so phenomenal, the dresses were gorgeous (and so were the men!) and it was an altogether amazing performance!
after the show was over (a three hour show....) prof. said "we need to all sit down.... anyone up for the pub?" - which, of course made us a.) love him even more and b.) all go to the pub together! i got the chocolate-est hot choclate i've ever had - it was delicious, esp. on a chilly night like tonight. we all sat outside, just chatting and enjoying sitting.
everyone got up and left - amanda, steve, katie, jess and i were a bit slow to leave so we ended up coming home by ourselves. not an issue - straight shot from blackfriars (as katie and i found out last night!)... got home safely and am now exhuasted.
leeds castle tomorrow! and fish and chips with the uddens at their flat afterwards.... should be much fun!
today was amazing, tomorrow will be amazing..... london, is amazing. i'm in love with it!