Thursday, September 13, 2007

Day 15 - (yesterday) Walk around Chelsea and The London Eye


so, i was absolutely EXHAUSTED last night.... thus... the post this morning.
Yesterday, AGAIN, made me fall in love with London even more (if that's possible)
In the morning, we had class and finally got to watch a bit more 'happy' films. The first was a mocumentary about a man who developed 'film' if you will before anyone else - Forgotten Silver. It was by Peter Jackson, the same guy wh did LOTR and such... Not bad, only 55 minutes and fairly funny. Then we watched The World's Fastest Indian.... now.... from the title, I imagined myself hating this movie but, surprisingly, it was actually very good - an old man with a fast motorcycle, life dream is to race it at this race in utah... this is his journey from New Zealand to Utah. Very inspiring and a happy ending - i approve! After the movies, we had a class discussion about films in New Zealand (only for about an hour since we watched TWO movies).
Class being finished, we had the entire rest of the day free. Came upstairs (roommate didn't come home last night - gracious - so she decided to sleep), finally around 2 i couldn't take being inside any longer - tooo nice outside and we're in LONDON! So, i grabbed steve, amanda, katie b and dave and we went on an expedition to find a restraunt in sloane square. We walked around for a good long time because we couldn't find the restraunt and thus went exploring for some place else to eat. On our little expedition we walked by the house where mozart composed his first symphony (how crazy random is that?!)... Anyway... after a while, we were getting tired of passing places (it's so hard to please everyone) and we found this little market-y area that had decently fancy food. We decided to eat there.... I got a warm bagette and butter.... amazing. And we ate outside. While in the market we found an entire little section devoted to American food!!! (talk about globalization! lol) It was insanely expensive ($4.50 for a reg. box of mac and cheese and $8 for a jar of applesauce!)
After eating, we headed back down king's rd. We stopped in godiva chocolate and steve got us a discount (he works there at home).... to die for! Made it home, and I talked to the family on video for a while.
Around 6:45 we left for the London Eye.... We could not have timed it better! By the time we got to where we needed to get tickets, it was juust starting to get dark (they had just turned the lights on basically everything) so we saw the pretty pink sunset from the ground. We got on the Eye and.... I have never been on anything this amazing in my life. Basically, a glass bubble that gives you the most GORGEOUS views of the city. I went picture CRAZY! It was wonderful!!! (and decently romantic.... ah well... single and happy and had lots of fun with the friends!) Once we got back down, we decided to walk along the South Bank - it's so pretty at night and the weather was perfect. Everyone else was walking super fast so Katie and I decided to just stroll.... we ended up spending an hour and a half just walking and chatting and me taking thousands (ish) of pictures!!!! (I couldn't get over how perfect the picture taking was!) Katie and I left there, headed home on the tube and decided we were both in need of chocolate fixes.... went to tesco. got chocolate chip cookies. yum. hehe
After that, came home, did the readings and basically had a quiet rest of the night.
today's the GLOBE! i'm so excited!!!!!!