Tuesday, September 11, 2007

I COMPLETELY forgot to post something last night! (brain fart on my part... oops)
Anyway.... yesterday was kind of a blah monday for me (granted, blah in London terms is super exciting in other terms... but... even so)
Got up in the morning, went to class. We watched "Gallipoli" which is probably the second most depressing movie ever made but very very good. We had big discussion about it afterwards (even watched a clip from another Peter Weird film - "Witness"!!!! - so much made me think of home...)
After class, came upstairs and grabbed a peanut butter and banana lunch *yyuuummmm* and then headed out for the museum. We met Prof outside the main lobby of the Imperial War Museum and he took us in to the World War 1 exhitbit (it's what we had just watched a movie on that morning.) I am not at all a war/history person... but this was slightly interesting. They had some really cool artifacts and it was done well (in my opinion). I wasn't feeling that great (needed to pee desperately) and finally after about an hour, we were free to go.... Amanda and i bee-lined for the bathroom. Upon which we found there was only a gents bathroom in the section we were (sexist what?!)... eventually we found a women's bathroom (on the other side of the museum). We left from there around 3. Amanda, Leo, Jess and I really were finished with the museum so we figured we'd head home. I got off at Sloane Square with Amanda and we wandered down King's Rd. (popped in to a couple of very expensive clothing stores) and then we went to into Waitros. I bought a hunk of cheese (L.165) and some tin foil to... wrap foods in. We made our way back to IES and grabbed quick dinner (yay jelly bread!). At 5:30, Leo, Dave, Amanda and I met in the lobby to go see the movie
Atonment was AMAZing and.... THE most depressing movie ever made (I guess I know now why yesterday was so blah... huh) anyway... the movie was very confusing right up until the end - then it all made sense. I'd definitely go see it again, knowing what happens now. We all really enjoyed it, but it kind of brought us all down. We came back to IES and went to our respective rooms (it ws almost 9)... I did some readings and proof read peter's IDS major proposal. Jess and Katie went out for a walk and invited me along, but I really wasn't in the mood and needed to get some work done. When they got back, though, we all hung out in the common room for a bit and then I went to bed
*side note - had strawberry rasberry tea in there too..... sooooo good. i'm totally turning English. this is what i've decided!*