Today was definitely a better day (not that yesterday was bad.... it just wasn't great.)
This morning, we watched a movie in class titled "Picnic at Hanging Rock" I definitely had my doubts about this film.... a documentary-esque film from the 70's doesn't sound too appealing. But it was actually legit good! Very eerie, a good story line and toooootally left you thinking (a cliff hanger ending that definitely did NOT explain everything)... Discussion after was equally good. I'm finally starting to voice my opinion... I was hesitant at first because I'm not a film student, but my background in theater has definitely helped.... so all's well with class.
After class, we came up to rooms for about a half hour. I caught up with Peter and talked about his IDS major proposal (which i may have raped for him...). We left for the British Museum around 1:15pm.... stopped at South Kensington Station to grab some food (since my bread was moldy! boo!) I bought this apple amazingness.... it was apple pie filling on some kind of crumbly coffee cake like sandwich substance - delicious!!! I ate that on the tube while we went to Waterloo station. Once off the station, we headed for the museum (we were slightly late, but all of us were travelling together.... so it was fine!) We met Prof at the front of the museum and then proceeded to meet our tour guide and start the tour. Now... this tourguide was very good. She had big ears and was very enthusiastic and new her stuff.... the subject, however, was not at all interesting to me (religious artifacts from India and China..... ugh). So... the tour was suuuper long (or felt like it) - 2 hours. Like I said, the tourguide (who was Indian and had a massive last name) was excellent and very nice (she could tell we were getting bored). After the official tour, our little group (Leo, Steve, Dave, Amanda, Jess, Katie and I) all went to see the Rosetta Stone - probably the most famous artifact there. We took pictures and, though Jess and Amanda probably would have wanted to stay longer, we were all slightly sick of museum-y things so we decided to grab food and head for the park we walked through to get to the museum. We ended up at a Starbucks (yay starbucks - makes me think of home!). I got a grande hot chocolate (L2.45..... yuck) but it was soooo good - i think more chocolatey than the stuff at home, actually.. and they use heavier wipped cream here. Everyone got something and we found the park.... plopped down in the grass and ate while just enjoying the beautiful weather (still has yet to rain! WOOT!) and scenery. They have these random parks all over the city and they are all so scenic and nice... I can't get over it, but I love them.
Around 5, we headed for the tube again - wanted to make sure we got to the BFI in plenty of time (luckily!). We have to see a film at the BFI for class (along with two others, but those we can see anywhere) so we decided that since we had a free night, we'd get it out of the way. We ended up going to see "The Night of the Sunflowers" - a Spanish film. Mostly we went to see this because it was at a good time - none of us really knew anything about it. (Leo was lucky! - Spanish speaking man got all the extra jokes! lol) Before the movie (we got there at like 5:25, got our tickets (which were almost sold out, got there just in time!) and headed outside to the southbank walkway). It was sooooo beautiful - a nice breeze, a book sale and plenty of room by the wall to look out over London and the Thames. I'm in love with it. Really in love. It just feels like I belong there.
We headed in to the movie and, even though I fell asleep for the first 15 minutes, it was very very good. In Spanish, as I said, but with subtitles... the movie was in chronologically messed up order - flashbacks or flashforwards, depending on how you look at it.... an excellent plotline - very universal ("if no one demands justice, should it still be served?", rape, murder, affairs, money, basically everything). We talked for a good 20 minute afterward about it.... and then started to head home.
I haven't been near the london eye at night until tonight - it's soooo gorgeous when it's lit up... and with Big Ben in the background, it's basically breathtaking - I've never been in such a movie/romantic/perfect night kind of place. I have to come back here... it needs to happen regularly. I think a part of my heart will always be in London.
Anyway.... enough of the sappy..... We got home and ended up stopping at Tesco to buy food (since we were all starving!). I got 2 croissants.... yummy! Now.... for the BIG NEWS! - Once we got home, I ate my croissants AND
AND
AAAAAND!
booked our flights for our week between london and lancaster
the seven of us (our 'gang' basically...) are all going to Paris for three days (AAAAAAAAAH!)
and then six of us (minus Steve) are going to Rome for another three!!!! (AAAAAAAH AGAIN!)
I'm thrilled
i cannot get over how much of a dream fulfilling time this has been. it's sooo satisfying.... something deep down inside me is just beaming and it's SUCH a good feeling. Never before have I felt like this!!! I'm basically on cloud nine right now..... I have never been this happy in all my life. This is what it feels like to have dreams come true.