today we watched a jackie chan movie in class...... NOT good. i don't know how dad watches these things! i fell asleep for part of it.... it's just not interesting AT ALL! i had two cups of tea this morning (i've felt kind of blah all day, but tea seemed to help) we had a discussion after class and then immediately left for dim sum (our last class activity! i can't believe it!!!!)
now..... my taste in chinese food is limited to sweet and sour chicken (just ask peter and torrey... it's all i get!) so, the idea of going to a chinese restraunt and NOT getting my usual was not at all appealing. steve and i chatted the whole way there about how nice it would be to have italian food.... or mac and cheese! mmmmm!!! we even passed an italian restraunt on the way and had to drag each other away from the doors (it smelled sooooo good) the dim sum restraunt was on canary warf down by the dockyards. we had not been there before (katie had talked about going there, but we never made it down).... it's in a really business-y section of town, so there wasn't too too much to see other than office buildings.... but the restraunt was right on the river so that was very cool
surprsingly, i really really enjoyed the meal! there was this huge lazy susan in the middle of our table (10 of us around the table - including prof and mrs. prof!!! YAY!) steve, leo, dave, katie battes, prof, mrs. prof, jon, jenna, tim and i. we had prof and mrs. prof order for us since none of us had ANY idea what to order. they ordered a variety of things (everything from fired dumpling seafoody things to noodles to interesting 'bread' things) i tried a decent amount of food and actually really really liked a lot of it! the bread and noodles were exactly what peter and i had when we went to NYC for spring awakening.... i didn't really like it then (i think because i was expecting something completely different that day) but today, it tasted sooo good! - and i sounded like i knew what i was talking about - having experience this. other good stuff included the bright green bread thing with sauce - almost tasted like a cinnamon bun without the cinnamon and with a chinese flare...... i also really liked the fried seafood dumpling. it had corriander in it (didn't know i liked that!) and shrimp inside a pocket of fried-ness..... all in all, i was pleasantly surprised!
after the dinner (about 13 pounds per person for the record).... katie and i ran to the movies. we thought we were going to be late (again) but got there just after they started it..... this movie was, in a word, stressful. "Two Nights in Paris"..... the main characters argued through the entire thing - bickering about this that and everything else, there was a fairy and a rabit head.... it was WEIRD and... really didn't tell a story. i dunno, maybe we just didn't get it but neither of us liked it and both of us found it decently stressful.
after the movie, we came home (around 7ish).... i wasn't feeling that great so i came up to the room to bum around (decided to not go out even if asked) i watched an episode of will and grace while i ate pita with butter and strawberry jelly. then, i did the final reading for tomorrow (our last class tomorrow! oh no!)
steve and amanda messaged me around 8:50 to see if i wanted to go out for hot chocolate with them..... i can't pass up hot chocolate. ever. we ended up hitting up the stock pot (down across from cadogan's). amanda and i had very very good hot chocolate (i've tried sooo many over here - i'm becoming the expert! and will definitely be trying more in france and italy as they are apparently even more amazing there - according to shoochen) anyway..... we got those and steve got spaghetti and salad (he's such a guy about food - anytime, anyplace!) we had a nice little time just chatting and eating/drinking
then... i came home, put on pj's and did a bit of studying in the common room.
now.... it's to bed. still not feeling up to par so i'm hoping to kick this before it actually turns into anything!