Friday, September 14, 2007

Day 17 - Leeds and Fish and chips!


today was yet ANOTHER amazing days.... i'm getting so spoiled by this!
this morning, we woke up earlier than normal. planned to meet downstairs at 8:15 - ended up not leaving until 8:30 (boo slow people).... but, it was fine. jess and i rean to tesco by south kensington to grab lunch items while everyone else went to subway (right behind the south kensington station) we met up and took the circle line to victoria station (only two stops! woot!) there, we kind of stood around for a while (weren't sure which platform we were boarding on) and eventually found the uddens. we got on our train and, after a hilarious conversation because we all were deliriously tired, fell asleep for the hour ride to the station.
once a th station, we had to wait for a little bit for the shuttle.... apparently, they don't expect big groups at this time of year and only had a small van running to the castle... they went and got the bigger shuttle for us (even though prof. had to sit on mrs. prof's lap! - it was funny).... took the 10ish minute shuttle ride to the castle grounds. they dropped us off and we walked the little bit to the ticket booth.
there was a hot air balloon in the sky - picture perfect..... as everything else, i soon found out.
we got to the grounds around 11.... let me tell you, it was perfect. there were white fluffy clouds in the sky with lots of sunshine, a cool breeze and a moderately cool day... gorgeous.
we walked around the grounds leading up to the castle (the grounds, in this case, are pretty much the highlight... the castle's beautiful too, but the grounds.... you just can't get over it) amanda and i decided that 'this is what we think of when we think of england - castles, rolling fields of beautiful, vibrant green grass... ducks, pastures, gates, pathways.... it was gorgeous)
after about an hour of walking around, we went in to the castle... also, fantastic! it was, surprisingly my style.... very late victorian/early modern-ish..... Lady Baillie and her daughters lived here (Lady Katheryn - Henry VIII's wife - one of - before)
the inside was breathtaking... the views of the grounds, the furniture... everything! open windows, beautiful curtains, i could not get over it!!! we walked around there for about 30 mins. - it's really not huuuuge..... definitely a castle, but can be walked through pretty quickly.
after that, jess, amanda and i met up and ate lunch in the food gallery place - we all had kind of walked through the castle at our own pace so... we ate lunch with whoever was around. i had a cheese biscut and cookie from tesco... mmmmmm.
after lunch, we walked through the dog collar museum (yes, they have one... my life is complete....?) anyway... and then through the gardens. they have some of the most unique and colorful flowers there! (and some gorgeous normal ones... beeeautiful roses!) a couple of trellaces and grapevines to sit under..... we wandered, i took pictures, it was glorious!
there are black and white swans and peacocks EVERYWHERE (ooo and ducks).... right along the water (which surronds the castle).... took more pictures!
then, we met up with everyone else. they had all gone through the maze, so amanda, jess and i ventured it..... it was waaay harder than i thought it was going to be. i can see why these things were so entertaining! it took a while!!! (had secret garden running through my head the WHOLE time).... finally, after about 25 minutes, we found the center and made our way down into the grotto - it's like the reward for finding the end. this underground area full of shell and stone sculptures.... so intricate!!! - took pictures.
there was a falconry show at 1:30 so we all went to that.... good, nothing too exciting, but i liked being outside so it was fine. after that, the aviary. normally, i don't like birds..... but this was okay - they were far enough away. - the sky was starting to get cloudy at this point.... by the time we walked back toward the castle, it was perfectly dramatic for some different pictures of the castle (got sunny ones in the morning and the opposite at night).
we were going to try to leave at 3, but couldn't because we had so many in our group.... so we hung out in the refreshments area behind the gift shop (did a crossword puzzle... chatted.... watched the crazy peacocks)
finally, we got on the shuttle.. went back to the station and JUST made the train for victoria. i sat with steve on the way home and had originally intended to sleep/listen to music..... instead, we chatted the whole way back - went by so fast! very fun.... he's an awesome friend
once we got to the station, prof lead us to plimico (about 10 minutes, if that, away from the station) there, we got fish and chips take out at seafresh (prof and mrs. have been raving about this place since we got here..... with good reason) i got haddock and chips...... we took the food and followed prof to their flat - a basement flat in one of those very cute buildings in pimlico. they have 1 bedroom, 1 bath, a kitchen, living room and small patio/garden area.... sooo cute. great windows opening out onto the patio.
we all ate our fish and chips (DELICIOUS! - greasy, very greasy.... but sooo good. that was REAL fish and chips for sure!) after that, mrs. prof made us salads (really fancy ones), set out grapes and then cookies and coffee - i had grapes and cookies (no salad - tomatoes and peppers = ew) but the cookies..... oof. to DIE for! - i'm in love with shortbread chocolate chip.
after we ate.... we all hung out (the 7 of us and the four girls) with prof. and mrs. - i have NEVER laughed that hard! it was sooo much fun getting to know them (he's a PK TOO!) and having them get to know us..... we got to their house around 5:30 and didn't leave until 10:15!!!! it was crazy good times!!!!
walked home.... talked to mom and dad and the crew at the beach for a bit..... and now.... i'm to bed. indian tour and food tomorrow.... we'll see how that goes...