Tuesday, August 28, 2007

DAY ONE! AAAAH

So, today has probably been the longest day of my life.... but the most AMAZING one at the same time. Technically, it has been two days, but with only sleeping for 2.5 hours, it's felt more like one long one.
Yesterday, we got up early, loaded the cars, ran to the bank and then to Sheetz (mmm bagel and cream cheese for breakfast with Mom and Dad). Then, we picked up Uncle Ken and headed for the airport. It was about 10am when we left and we ended up getting to the airport around 1pm. (Not at ALL the massive amount of time that Ron thought it might take us - which was good, but left us with 3 hours to sit and wait until check-in). I was worried that Mom was going to have major problems, but Uncle Ken and people watching kept all three of us laughing and occupied. ("Tom Tom knows!"... elf costumes and cards that have my name and other messages on them for when I get off the plane in Dec.)
Finally, at about 4pm I called Jess (just before that, though, I got a call from Peter letting me know he got to Detroit safe and sound). Jess and her parents were stuck in traffic, so I said that I'd get in line awhile at baggage. We waited and waited.... finally when we were literally checking in, Jess and her mom found us and then later her dad as well. We checked baggage (both of mine were under the 50lbs so no extra charges! woot!) and then started the goodbye-ing. Mom and I both cried - I think Dad was a little choked up too, but after lots and lots of hugs and 'I love you's', Jess and I made our way through to security. I had no idea what I was doing! Thank heavens for Jess, that's all I can say. We had to take off our shoes, pull out our laptops from our carry ons, I took off my belt and on top of all that we had to put it on the conveyer belt AND hand passports/bording passes to people. It was crazy, but we made it through. At first I was a little disappointed because I couldn't see Mom and Dad (they were going to stay in case I had to leave anything with them), but then Jess and I saw both of our parents off to one side, making a big scene (but a wonderful scene) saying goodbye and waving. We made our way up the escalators and to Gate 4. Before that, we stopped to grab a bite to eat at the Terminal food court - I got one last McDonald's milkshake - sooo good!
At the gate, we met up with Jenna and Leo (at the time, we didn't know either) and then later everyone else arrived. We boarded, took our seats (two seats in the middle aisle in the middle of the last section of the plane) and got settled in. Jess and I did get to sit next to each other and squeeled the whole time (or at least take off and landing). We watched Shrek 3 on the video set in front of us and had some... eh.... chicken for dinner. I fell asleep, but the man next to me (a gentleman from Ireland as I later found out) kept pushing the buttons on my arm rest by accident and turning up my volume and light and causing all sorts of problems. I got a little bit of rest before we finally landed - on time - at 7am London time (we left at 7pm U.S. time).
We got to the airport and made our way to buggage claims - no problems there! (thank goodness) Then we were off to passport control - after a little bit of confusion, we finally got in line and made our way through - again, no problems. After going through customs, we met Prof. Udden at the Arrivals gate and he directed us to the bus outside. We didn't think all of our luggage was going to fit! - he kept trying to squeeze it into the back of the bus. Finally, he opened another portion of the bus and everything was fine. We made our way to IES (filled out some forms on the way and such). - Got to experience our first other side of the road driving, double decker bus and much more! Finally, at the IES Res hall, we unpacked and made our way inside. As it turned out, though, our rooms weren't scheduled to be ready until 2pm (and it was about 10am) so Prof. Udden gave us a bit more paper work and then told us we could go walk around for a while. Jess, Amanda and I decided to make our way around Chelsea so we walked straight down King's Rd. for about 25 minutes and then turned around to go back (just enough to get a real sense of how gorgeous, fantastic and ritzy this area is! - apparently one of the most expensive portions of the most expensive city in the world) Once we got back, our room was ready so we took our luggage upstairs then headed back o the common room for lunch (sandwiches with nasty grainy bread... but still good to have, nonetheless). After lunch, Prof. Udden introduced us to his wife (who's name I can't remember at the moment... but she seems very nice) and the one girl (Katie) who didn't fly with us finally got here (she flew out of BWI instead of JFK). After our short meeting there, Prof. Udden took us on the longest walk of all time to show us a bit more of the city.... Now, while this wasn't actually the longest walk of all time, it certainly felt like it - we were all sooo exhausted and hitting that rough slump of exhaustion where you basically don't think you can take another step. But.... we did. We got to see Harold's (the biggest department store in the world!) and Southern Kensington Station. I absolutely, at this point, cannot tell you how to get to either (even though we walked to both) because I completely lost track of time and where I was - more worrid about the tiredness of my feet and the weird, almost dizzy/achey feeling from flying. After forever, we got back to IES. I called Mom to let her know we got here okay (this was the first chance I could get - like 3pm....) She seemed okay - cried a little at the end, but she was happy to hear from me. Then, we got to unpack and shower! It was SOOOO nice to take a shower - helped wake me up just a little. Our room is absolutely the tiniest thing ever, but surprisingly there's a decent amount of rom for clothing and everything seems to be working out well.
After our about 2 hours off, we made our way to the Henry J. Bean restaurant to have dinner as a group with Prof. Dinner was excellent (although, none of us were sure if we could order drinks, since the college was paying for our bill... after seeing Prof. Udden order a beer and some of the other people order drinks, we finally did though) I had a Strawberry O'Hara (did scarlet proud, right?) - it was basically strawberry stuff in champagne with a splash of vodka - pretty good! and I had a chicken schnitzel (not dried apples!) sandwich (it was breaded chicken with mozzerella on top) also good - but HUGE (took half home) I sat with Leo and Katie and Steve and Jess and Dave - I'm really thinking this is going to be 'my' group of people. They're very fun and very much like me in that they're basically here to have the most amazing time possible without being stupid. (Include Amanda in on this group - even though she didn't sit with us at dinnner). After dinner, we meandered to the phone store to see if we could get prices on cell phones. I did buy a calling card at the IES desk, but I thought getting prices couldn't hurt. The stores were closed, though, so we're planning on going sometime tomorrow. Then we hit up the drugstore to buy hair dryers (I didn't need one - thanks Aunt Sharon) and straighteners (this... I needed. desperately). Finally, we went in to Waitros (the grocery store down the street from IES) to get some food for this week - Jess and I went in together since we like many of the same things and thought we'd save a bit of money by cooking together. We spent about 17 pounds (almost 34 dollars) which is not bad considering we got about a week's worth of food and should be good now for a while. Chelsea is SO expensive - movies are almost $22 and the cheapest olive oil we could find was just over $4 (just some examples). But, it's high class and I'm loving every minute - so it's worth it as long as I watch my money. We get 10 pounds a day for food while we're here so I think I'm on an okay track. After the grocery store, we headed back to IES where John (who Jess sat next to on the plane) and Tim (from our freshman floor) wanted to play beirut. We all chipped in and they bought some beer (drinking age is 18 - it's not illegal!). Before I went downstairs to join all of them, I got to video chat with PETER in JAPAN!!!! YAY!!!! I was so thrilled to see him. It was 4am there, but he was wide awake.... so we 'silent video'ed while typing messages. It was very very good to see him and see that he made it okay. We played beirut for a little while (they tried to teach me - I didn't do too horrible, but didn't drink). They set it up in one of the kitchens. While the kitchens our nice.... they're nice for about 2-3/4ish people..... not 10-12 playing drinking game. It got old. fast. (and, i've decided i don't like beer at all - it's gross. - will not be chipping in money again for beer) One of the girls, Jenna, met some of the other girls and guys that are staying here (they're on an internship program until next Saturday). They invited Jenna to go along with them to the pub down around the corner (not sure on the name... will look into that). Jenna, in turn, invited Jess and I to go. Normally, I would have said no - I had a long day, blah blah.... but, I've decided - I'm only going to live in London once (likely) I HAVE to make the most of it and not allow myself to just sit in the room. So.... we all went to the pub (it's a block down the road on King Rd.) - don't have to cross any streets (a plus here, that's for sure! it's so weird crossing roads when you have to look opposite ways!) We were standing outside the pub (jenna smokes, so we were waiting while she finished her cigarette) when three english boys walked by and asked for a light. Jenna gave it to them and we ended up chatting outside for about 20 minutes (they're all on holiday this week but are going back to school next weekend - names: Andy, Jack and Roupert - yes, i met a Roupert already!) We ended up going inside and playing a game of pool (I got to show off my pool skills - the guys were actualy decently impressed!). Jenna suggested that since i don't like the taste of beer that I try hard cider (it's called strongbough (spelling?) here... i think that's the brand). It's MUCH better tasting than beer. Still carbonated and kind of strange tasting.... but much more tasteful (and cheaper! 1 pinte = 2.40 pounds) We had a GREAT time and basically just relaxed around the pub for an hour/ish. After we'd finished our ciders, we headed back to IES to FINALLY get into bed...... it's been a LONG two days. I'm EXHAUSTED but thoroughly and ABSOLUTELY content. I couldn't be happier!