Friday, August 31, 2007

Bath - Day Four


Today was slightly overcast and cloudy..... but didn't rain, so it was okay. We got up VERY early this morning (took a shower last night to get a bit of extra sleep this morning) and left IES around 8am. We made our way to the South Kensington Tube station and took the Circle Line to the Waterloo Line and finally to Paddington Station. There, we met Prof. and Mrs. After getting waters and coffees, we jumped on the train that took us to Bath. The train ride was about 1.5 hours. Jess and I spent about half of that sleeping (we were both tired) and the rest taking pictures, exchanging cell phone numbers and, basically just chatting away. We got to bath a bit early (around 11am) - the tour wasn't to start until 11:30am, so Prof gave us 25 minutes to walk around a bit and get acquainted with parts of the town.

**i just typed a WHOLE LONG POST..... and deleted it by accident! GAH!!!!*

we met back at the train station around 11:30am for our tour. Our tour guide (named Caroline.... of course) took us basically all over Bath. The buildings there are gorgeous - all the same color - all made of limestone. The tour took ust to, basically, every major landmark in Bath (the Abbey, the baths, the Royal crescent, the sun, the Jane Austen Museum, Sally Lunn Shoppe, etc. etc. etc.) It was a beautiful day - slightly overcast but no rain and breezy temp. The tour ended aroung 1:30 - we all were STARVING so we went back to the Sally Lunn store. Jess and I both got sweet rolls with strawberry jam and butter - soooo deliciously amazing. After eating, the group of us went downstairs to the mini-museum they have. It was basically showing the original bakery and some other little tid-bit kind of things.
After Sally Lunn, we decided to hit up the baths. While it was kind of expensive to get inside, it was mostly worth it. There are three Roman baths that sit above this ginormous hot spring (you could even see the bubbles in one of them) and it's all surrounded by these elaborate buildings and columns and statues - pretty amazing. We wandered around there for a bit and, at the end, got to taste the water - the people used to drink and bathe in the water for its minerals (43!!!)... apparently it was the best way to solve any ailments/problems. I, personally, thought it was disgusting (warm mineral water... eww.)
Once finished with the baths, we headed out into the main square and decided to tour the abbey (cheap - only L2). It was absolutely gorgeous inside - stained glass windows, wood work, lots and lots of beautiful-ness. After seeing both St. Paul's and this abbey, I now know why these people were so religious... it was so inspiring!
With the abbey behind us, we headed out to walk along the Avon River (runs through Bath) when Lee called. Jess and I went to meet her in the square while the others continued to walk around. It was soooo good to see Lee (another friendly familiar gettysburg face! YAY!) and I think she was really grateful to see us. She loves it in Bath, and I definitely can't blame her. We sat in the square and had fish and chips for dinner... just chatting away and enjoying the scenery (now much less busy since apparently things start to close down around 6ish). By about 6:45 we started to walk towards Lee's flat (she had a reception with her tutors that night). The flat is fantastic!!! It's above a greek restraunt, is huuuuge and overlooks a river.... basically, phenomenal.
After dropping her off, we met back up with the group and headed for the train station. Outside the station, we stopped to buy goodies for the ride home. I got the most delicious triple chocolate chip shortbread in the world for only 99p!!!! The train ride home was rough.... we didn't have reservations so we had to just take available seats which meant sitting next to strange man.... awkward when you'd like to try to sleep. He left after about 3 stops though and I read the paper he left behind.
We got back home around 9:30ish and decided to do a quick change/pee stop and then head out again. (It's amazing what a new shirt, some lip gloss and earrings will do for a girl! haha) We, the gang, hit up Cadogen's for about an hour (all of us got pints of cider) and, at 11 (because they close then) we decided to head down to the next block and the other hang out that people from our group have been to. We still aren't sure what it's called (something foreign with a B, so we named it 'Babushka's' for reference sake).... ANYWAY this place is fantastic!!!! - kind of night clubby but without a cover charge (woot!). We danced for a while and some got drinks.... About an hour and a half later we were all super hot (it was reeeeally crowded inside) and so we decided to head out. It was such a nice night out (and only 12:30am at this point) so we ran back to IES for quick pee time and then back out for a walk to the bridge.... it's kind of our new favorite place for pretty nights out. We left the bridge (after a bit) and came back..... basically to just hang out and chat about our day and whatev. Went to bed around 3am (wow late night...) It was definitely a good.... but EXHAUSTING day!